

RICHARD KENT, LAST YEAR'S RACE WINNER, PACES TEST SESSION TWO OF THE 2009 STAR MAZDA SEASON FINALE THIS WEEKEND AT MAZDA RACEWAY LAGUNA SECA

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca / Oct. 8 - English racer Richard Kent, who won this event from the



pole in 2008, moved up from 6th in the morning to pace the second of two 'promoter test sessions' scheduled for today, turning a lap of 1:20.706 (99.829 mph) in the #33 Andersen Racing / Traka Allied Interior Products Mazda. Kent is currently 6th in the championship battle with two wins and four poles.

"The Andersen Racing team has given me a great car this weekend and we made good progress between the morning and afternoon sessions," said Kent.

"Not being in contention for the

championship, I have a little less pressure on me than Peter (Dempsey) and Adam (Christodoulou) and my only concern this weekend is going for the win."

Peter 'The Irish Steamroller' Dempsey, currently leading the championship battle with five wins, moved up from 5th fast in the morning session to record the 2nd-fast time of the afternoon, a 1:20.980 (99.602 mph) in his #3 Juncos Racing / The Collection / Motorsport Ireland / Queyside.ie Mazda. 3rd-fast, after setting the pace in the morning session, was Englishman Adam Christodoulou. He turned a 1:20.915 (99.571 mph) in the #11 JDC Motorsports / Molecule / Alpinestars Mazda. Dempsey and Christodoulou are the only two drivers remaining in contention for the Series championship and Christodoulou has already clinched the 'Rookie of the Year' award. Dempsey needs to finish only 6th or better in the race to clinch the overall championship.

Rounding out the top-5 was Brazilian Racer Caio Lara. After placing 13th on the morning time sheet, he moved up to 4th in the afternoon with a lap of 1:21.439 (98.930 mph). 5th-fast was Milwaukee Mile oval winner Anders Krohn, dropping one spot from his 4th-place finish in the morning session. He turned a 1:21.615 (98.717 mph) in the #27 Mundill / Trallfa / Colosseum Mazda.

Pos	No.	Name	Best Tm	Diff	Best Spd	In Lap	Team	Sponsor
1	33	Richard Kent	1:20.706		99.829	27	Andersen Racing	Traka/Allied Interior Products
2	3	Peter Dempsey	1:20.890	0.184	99.602	25	Juncos Racing	Juncos Racing / The Collection / Motorsports Ireland
3	11	Adam Christodoulou	1:20.915	0.209	99.571	24	JDC Motorsports	Molecule/AlpineStars/Miller Milling Co
4	19	Caio Lara	1:21.439	0.733	98.930	18	JDC Motorsports	MLD/ATW/Molecule
5	27	Anders Krohn	1:21.615	0.909	98.717	23	Mundill	Trallfa/Colosseum
6	51	Alex Ardoin	1:21.637	0.931	98.691	17	JDC Motorsports	Oral & Facial Surgery Center/Twister Trailer
7	66	Rusty Mitchell	1:21.797	1.091	98.497	26	Mitchell Motorsports	Motorola
8	22	Conor Daly	1:21.843	1.137	98.442	17	Andersen Racing	Indeck/Cytomax/Merchant Services/College Network
9	71	David Ostella	1:21.870	1.164	98.410	25		
10	2	Joel Miller	1:22.008	1.302	98.244	15	Andersen Racing	Allied Interior Products/Doug Mockett & Co
11	73	Giancarlo Vilarinho	1:22.037	1.331	98.209	27	Aim Autosport	
12	72	Jorge Goncalvez	1:22.119	1.413	98.111	25	Aim Autosport	
13	64	Patrick O'Neill	1:22.173	1.467	98.047	27		
14	85	Chris Miller	1:22.243	1.537	97.963	23	JDC Motorsports	Miller Milling Company
15	30	Kyle Marcelli	1:22.528	1.822	97.625	20	Team GDT	
16	21	Denis Navarro	1:22.920	2.214	97.164	25	Andersen Racing	Navarro Medicines Distribution/Allied
17	16	Chris Cumming	1:23.521	2.815	96.464	16	World Speed Motorsports	Texas World Speedway/Motul Oil/K&N Filters +
18	91	Michael Guasch	1:23.621	2.915	96.349	27		
19	12	Chuck Hulse	1:23.965	3.259	95.954	26		
20	55	Gerry Kraut	1:24.699	3.993	95.123	15	JDC Motorsports	Dougherty and Co./Dougherty Funding LLC.
21	80	Toshihiro Deki	1:26.049	5.343	93.630		Juncos Racing	
22	13	Michael Furfari	1:26.837	6.131	92.781	2	Mundill	Furfari Paving
23	65	JW Roberts	1:30.384	9.678	89.140	10		

Official practice begins with a morning and afternoon session on Friday, Oct. 9. Qualifying to set the grid for the always-exciting Star Mazda 'standing start' will take place from 8:00-8:45 am Saturday, Oct 10, with the expected field of 25+ Star Mazda cars and drivers taking the green light for the 45-minute 2009 season finale at 12:50 pm.

